Friday, June 26, 2009

SF Seattle: Science Fiction Awards Saturday

Following a day of science fiction panel discussions, an autograph session and the Locus Awards Banquet and Ceremony author Connie Willis, artists Michael Whelan and Frank R. Paul, and editor and publisher Edward L. Ferman will be inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame on Sat., June 27 in Seattle. The Locus Awards ceremony, from the magazine of the science fiction and fantasy field, is a sold out event this year.

Luminaries at the event will include: Paolo Bacigalupi, Elizabeth Bear, Greg Bear, Brenda Cooper, Ellen Datlow, Gardner Dozois, Karen Joy Fowler,
Eileen Gunn, John Kessel, Stephen D. Korshak (editor of From the Pen of Paul: Fantastic Images of Frank R. Paul) Nancy Kress, Todd Lockwood, Christopher Moore, Matt Ruff, Ken Scholes, Gordon Van Gelder, Michael Whelan, and Connie Willis.

The Science Fiction Museum will unveil the new hall of famers' laser-etched images on the translucent, glowing hall of fame display at 6:15 p.m. on the second level of the science fiction galleries. Photo op for museum guests!

Last chance to place bets and weigh in on the Locus Awards. Which science fiction novel moved you?

* Matter, Iain M. Banks (Orbit UK)
* City at the End of Time, Greg Bear (Gollancz, Del Rey)
* Marsbound, Joe Haldeman (Ace)
* Anathem, Neal Stephenson (Atlantic UK, Morrow)
* Saturn's Children, Charles Stross (Orbit, Ace)

Favorites in the other categories (fantasy novel, short story, magazine, anthology, etc.)?

No comments: