Saturday, June 27, 2009

Locus Awards honor science fiction family

There was a lot of love for fen and the science fiction community June 26 in Seattle at the Locus Awards and Science Fiction Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies. Author Connie Willis, artists Michael Whelan and Frank R. Paul, and editor and publisher Edward L. Ferman are new Science Fiction Hall of Famers.

As voted by readers of Locus Magazine, for the science fiction and fantasy field, the awards went to:

Anathem, Neal Stephenson (Atlantic UK, Morrow) — science fiction novel
Lavinia, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt) — fantasy novel
Singularity's Ring, Paul Melko (Tor) — first novel
The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins, Bloomsbury) — young adult novel
"Pretty Monsters", Kelly Link (Pretty Monsters) — novella
"Pump Six", Paolo Bacigalupi (Pump Six and Other Stories) — novelette
"Exhalation", Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two) — short story
Tor — publisher
The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Fifth Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed. (St. Martin's) — anthology
Pump Six and Other Stories, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books) — collection
Editor Ellen Datlow
Artist Michael Whelan
P. Craig Russell,
Coraline: The Graphic Novel, Neil Gaiman, adapted and illustrated by P. Craig Russell (HarperCollins) non-fiction/art book

And here's the complete list of Locus Award finalists.

No comments: