Friday, May 20, 2011

EMP Announces 2011 Sci-Fi Hall of Fame Inductions

EMP Announces the 2011 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductions
Reserve free tickets to ceremony starting May 23, 2011

SEATTLE—EMP is proud to announce the 2011 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductions. On Saturday, June 25, 2011 at 4:30 p.m., four science fiction luminaries will be inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. Those being honored this year are: Vincent Di Fate, Gardner Dozois, Harlan Ellison, and Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud. The induction ceremony will be held in the JBL Theater at EMP. The Science Fiction Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is part of the annual Science Fiction Weekend which includes The Locus Awards Ceremony  and NW Media Arts writing workshops.

Tickets to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are free and can be reserved starting Monday, May 23, 2011 by calling the EMP box office at 206-770-2702.
The Science Fiction Hall of Fame honors the lives, work and ongoing legacies of science fiction's greatest creators. Founded in 1996, the Hall of Fame was relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at EMP in 2004. Hall of Fame nominations are submitted by EMP members. The final inductees are chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction authors, artists, editors, publishers and film professionals.


Vincent Di Fate
Vincent Di Fate has been one of the world’s leading science fiction and fantasy artists for more than 30 years. Throughout his prolific career he has created both imaginative and scientific paintings of space and futuristic technology for book covers and clients such as IBM, The Reader’s Digest, The National Geographic Society and NASA. His paintings are vivid and precise with strikingly elegant brushstrokes and their impact on the world of science fiction is unmistakable. Di Fate has been honored by the most prestigious awards in his field including the Frank R. Paul Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction Illustration, the Hugo Award for Best Professional Artist, the Skylark Award for Imaginative Fiction, The Lensman Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Science Fiction Field, and the Chesley Award from the Association of Science Fiction/Fantasy Artists for Lifetime Artistic Achievement.

Gardner Dozois
Gardner Dozois is best known for his work as the editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction from 1984 – 2004 and the annual Year’s Best Science Fiction anthologies from 1984 onward. He has a reputation as one of the foremost editors of science fiction and fantasy with a record 15 Hugo Awards for Best Editor, and is also a two-time Nebula Award-winning author. Throughout his career he collaborated with magazines such as Galaxy Science Fiction, If, Worlds of Fantasy, and Worlds of Tomorrow, has co-edited a series of themed anthologies with Jack Dann, and currently writes short fiction reviews for Locus while also continuing to edit the Year’s Best Science Fiction annual anthologies.

Harlan Ellison
Harlan Ellison is an acclaimed speculative fiction writer who has produced over 1,000 works including short stories, novellas, screenplays, teleplays, and essays as well as literature, film, and television criticism. He has contributed to a number of popular television shows including The Outer Limits, Star Trek, The Alfred Hitchcock Hour, The Twilight Zone, and Babylon 5. His collections of television criticism, The Glass Teat and The Other Glass Teat are highly regarded. Ellison’s writing is edgy and aggressive and his tone can be both humorous and dark. His large collection of awards includes 10 Hugo Awards, 3 Nebula Awards, 18 Locus Poll Awards, the Bradbury Award, 6 Bram Stoker Awards, The Edgar Allan Poe Award, and 2 Georges Méliès fantasy film awards.

Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud
Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud is an internationally-renowned comics artist originally from a suburb of Paris, France. Giraud began using the Moebius pseudonym in 1963 specifically for his fantasy and science fiction work which includes the L’Incal, The Airtight Garage, and Arzach series, as well as storyboards for films such as Les Maîtres du temps, released in English as Time Masters. Moebius has since become the name by which he is best known in the US, where he’s contributed production design for films such as Alien, Willow, The Abyss, and The Fifth Element. The style and tone of his artwork is very adaptive and through the course of his career has generally shifted from more realistic, as seen in his early Blueberry series, to more expressive and fantastical compositions.

ABOUT EMP Museum of Music + Sci-Fi + Pop Culture
EMP is a non-profit organization dedicated to the exploration of creativity and innovation in music, science fiction, and popular culture. EMP combines interpretative, interactive exhibitions with state-of-the-art technologies, and educational programming to offer visitors of all ages a first-hand, multi-dimensional experience of the creative and artistic process. EMP is housed in a 140,000 square foot Frank O. Gehry-designed building. This spectacular, prominently visible structure has the presence of a monumental sculpture set amid the backdrop of the Seattle Center.

EMP MUSEUM HOURSWinter hours September 7, 2010 - May 26, 2011, 10:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Summer hours May 27, 2011 - September 5, 2011, 10:00 a.m.- 7:00 p.m.

325 5th Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109
206-770-2700, main line
206-770-2702, box office
1-877-EMP-SFM1, toll-free


No comments: